Religion and the first colonists

The role of religion in the future South Australia was an important preoccupation of members of the various associations promoting the province in the 1830s.  Many were members of Dissenting sects – the Protestant sects that had ‘dissented’ from the Established Church, or Church of England, from the sixteenth century.  Known collectively as Dissenters, or Nonconformists, they constituted a much higher proportion of the early population of South Australia than in the other Australian colonies. Both Nonconformists and Catholics were subject to active discrimination in Britain from the time of the English Reformation, when Henry VIII split the Church in England from Rome, and this was only slowly removed. Dissenters only achieved the right to vote and to hold public office in 1828, Catholics in 1829, and not surprisingly, those involved in planning South Australia wanted to create a society based on principles of religious equality and liberty. Many also opposed state aid for religion and supported the ‘voluntary principle’, under which adherents were responsible for supporting their churches and clergy without the assistance of government.

Those arriving in South Australia in the first years came from five major Christian groups – Anglicans of the Established Church of England, Nonconformists or Dissenters, Roman Catholics, Scottish Presbyterians and German Lutherans (from 1838). There were also members of less orthodox Christian groups, including the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers), the Unitarians and the New Church (Swedenborgians).  The Nonconformists were further divided into Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Baptists, Congregationalists and a few smaller sects. All set about building churches, encouraging the English author Anthony Trollope to confirm the description of Adelaide as a ‘city of churches’ in 1872.

Share this page:

Comments or Questions:

2 Responses to “Religion and the first colonists”

  1. Anthony Laube February 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    The term ‘city of churches’ clearly pre-dates Anthony Trollope’s visit to Adelaide, as evidenced by his using the phrase within quotes. (Thirty years ago my English tutor at the Adelaide CAE pointed this out to the class.)

    Searching the National Library’s digitised newspaper site reveals the term appears in Adelaide newspapers as early as 1867. (SA Register 15 March 1867, p. 3) It was used as “Adelaide, the City of Churches” in a sermon at Norwood by the well-known Baptist minister, Silas Mead, in 1868.(ibid 12 May 1868, p. 2)

    • Kristy February 23, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks Anthony. I wonder if this was the very first mention? Any readers who have found an earlier reference might like to let us know. And of course there are many who dispute that Adelaide was ever really the city of churches and might equally have been described as the city of pubs!
      Kristy – History SA

Add your comment:

Please read our moderation policy before commenting
To display your avatar when you comment, the Bound For South Australia 1936 website uses free and globally recognised Gravatars. Learn more and register here to get your free gravatar.