West Indies

‘West Indies’ is the name given to the 7,000 islands, islets, reefs and cays that are found in the Caribbean Sea. The area is south-east of the Gulf of Mexico, west of Central America and north of South America. When Christopher Columbus arrived at the islands in 1492 he thought he had reached the Indies in Asia. Hence, they became known as the ‘West Indies’. Spain, Britain, France, Holland and Denmark all established colonies in the West Indies. The islands are tropical and have wet and dry seasons though the climate varies as with variations in the size of islands, ocean currents and terrain. Some islands are flat and non-volcanic, others mountainous.

Click here to view the West Indies on google maps.

Share this page:

Comments or Questions:

No comments yet.